Dad’s Dish: Now and then.

Valentine’s Day, as corny as it sounds, was a great opportunity for us to get over our individual shyness and “make eyes” at one another. Now, here we are, four years and 364 days later, blogging about our attempts to expand the family. Pretty cool how things work out. One day you’re worried about when Phish is coming to town, whether you’ll be able to score a ticket to the show and how your next bag of herb will make its appearance in your life. Then you’re hoping this girl will notice you. And before long, you’re worried about your wife taking pre-natal vitamins, affording day care, and buying a place of your own.

I’ve always known I wanted to be a dad. I was never sure of what I wanted to study in school (or if I wanted to go to college at all, for that matter), or in what career I would excel, but I always knew with no question that I wanted to get married and have kids. To be precise, I wanted two kids: a girl, then a boy. (Apparently that’s a rich man’s family.) It’s kind of weird, but I have also always known that it would happen for me. I’m not sure that the girl will come first or if we’ll have exactly two kids, but I have always known in my heart of hearts that I would meet my perfect mate, that we would fall deeply in love, get married, and have a nice little family together.

Now that it is all coming to a head, I’m trying to make sense of my thoughts and emotions. I love my wife and wouldn’t trade her for the world. I know I want this family to expand sooner rather than later. Yeah, there is a lot to be anxious about – as the wife observed, there’s a recession, she’s in hot pursuit of a job, I’m employed at a non-profit, the Future Mama’s health concerns (a blood clotting disorder) mean ours will be a high-risk pregnancy – but, at the end of the day, the anxiety gives way to excitement about how cool it will be to have a little version of ourselves running around to mold into what I hope will be the coolest person ever!

I feel it may be necessary to mention that I’m new to the blogosphere. (I am not sure what’s supposed to go into these things.) I suspect most bloggers who are Projected Progenitors aren’t men, and, unlike the wife, I am not a former journal-writer – or, absent e-mails to friends or class papers – a writer at all, for that matter. I do, however, have some thoughts about all of this stuff that I’d love to share. So for what it’s worth, here is one prospective dad’s dish on conception, pregnancy, birth, and family life in general.

May we be blessed with one another – and health and happiness – for life.

About Projected Progenitor

Projected (adj.) (prə-ˈjekt-ed): From the 15th Century Anglo-French 'projector,' from Latin 'projectus.' Devised in the mind, predicted. Progenitor (n.) (prō-ˈje-nə-tər): Middle English, from the 14th Century Anglo-French 'progenitour,' from Latin 'progenitor,' meaning 'to beget.' An ancestor in the direct line, foreparent.
This entry was posted in Dad's Dish, Pre-Conception. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

