A boy grows in Brooklyn.

A couple of May’s ago, the entire family crowded into a too-small waiting room at NYU Hospital, nail-biting and nervous chatting as if never something like birth had ever happened before. That’s how it is with birth. Special and beautiful and kind of awesome every single time. But this time in particular. Because this time, we had extra special affinity for this brand new human: our nephew.

I remember how the first time I held him he was so little.  His hair felt like feathers. And when he cried he sort of snorted and it was the most lovely little sound. We talked about him with deep respect, almost awe. And we anticipated how someday he’d confront us with a glimmering look of recognition and call us by name.

So, on the occasion of the nephew’s Big 0-2, we pilgrimaged to New York to help him celebrate a day he’s too little to ever remember and we’re not so old to forget. There was much to celebrate, too. Two, of course. How he greeted us at the door with a giant gap-toothed smile. The way he called the occasion a “happy” and introduced us to all his new toys and we taught him little games and he played tug-of-war with my open arms. We ate Peking Duck and cupcakes and I quietly came to terms with the realization that even if I I’m never “Mommy,” I’ll still be thoroughly pleased to be this very cool kid’s piggy-back-dance party buddy and silly “Auntie ‘Oni.”

About Projected Progenitor

Projected (adj.) (prə-ˈjekt-ed): From the 15th Century Anglo-French 'projector,' from Latin 'projectus.' Devised in the mind, predicted. Progenitor (n.) (prō-ˈje-nə-tər): Middle English, from the 14th Century Anglo-French 'progenitour,' from Latin 'progenitor,' meaning 'to beget.' An ancestor in the direct line, foreparent.
This entry was posted in Infertility. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A boy grows in Brooklyn.

  1. Simply beautiful post, on birth and a special birthday! We had fertility problems after our first son – and we thought we’d NEVER have another one. I remember that heart-ache. I also remember it opened my heart so much more to love so much better – and that heart opening prepared me to love a whole bunch more children than I ever imagined!

  2. Adrian says:

    A Boy Grows in Brooklyn. What a clever title. Thanks for visiting me on my SITS day.

  3. Love this birthdays! I’ll never forget my DD’s 1st and 2nd. They may not remember it but yes, we do! Happy Birthday to your nephew.

  4. I grew in Brooklyn myself. Stopping by from SITS and I love the feel of your blog. I’m glad you’re enjoying being an aunt even if it’s not all that you want.

  5. I absolutely LOVE this post! So sweet! How wonderful to celebrate every baby. Your family totally welcomed your nephew in a beautiful way!

  6. Thank you for coming by my blog. This is a beautiful post.
    – agata.

  7. Jayme says:

    He’s very lucky to have you :)

Leave a Reply

