A funny thing happened on the way to the OB’s office.

A funny thing happened on the way to the OB’s office. To wit, we Hopeless Infertiles forgot we were expecting!  Or did we choose to ignore it? I don’t know.

Despite the now daily on-again/off-again vom, the gargantuan teetahs, the 7:00pm all-night naps and the fact that I can’t close my pants, this can’t possibly mean what I think it does, right? We’re still pregnant? Stuff’s working? I have a fetus the size of a prune? And how ironic is that considering it hurts to poop?

Limited loved-ones in the know would ask us whether we were making preparations: secretly splurging for that thing we couldn’t wait another seven months to purchase for a kid we’ve never met, perusing about parenting, touring day-care centers, interviewing nannies, throwing down for membership in a synagogue. We hadn’t. Because why should we? We were – er, are, because who are we kidding? – experiencing a classic case of infertility-induced Wait and See.

Just like that, we neared the end of our first trimester in blissful disregard for whatever to-do’s the baby books insisted we should have tackled yesterday. Hell, we’d probably have gone on “waiting and seeing” for another 30 weeks if we could, but a poster on the slide-aside receptionist’s window at our doctor’s office indicated childbirth classes book months in advance.

So, because we’d just heard – at precisely 10 weeks, zero days – our kid’s 172 beats-per-minute on Doppler (and because we learned we could be re-funded our money in the “unlikely” event we no longer needed the course), we registered for a March HypnoBirthing class, invested in a prenatal yoga DVD and embarked on Operation Select-a-Stroller: 2011.

It was our own little market research study which attempted to resolve the great Britax versus City Mini debate. Dozens and dozens of product reviews, another dozen visits to baby supply stores, a handful of YouTube videos, and a lot of deconstructing, one-handed-folding and make-believe later, Britax won by a hair. Plus this having a baby thing felt a little more like it might actually happen and, if it did, we’d be prepared – for a walk.

About Projected Progenitor

Projected (adj.) (prə-ˈjekt-ed): From the 15th Century Anglo-French 'projector,' from Latin 'projectus.' Devised in the mind, predicted. Progenitor (n.) (prō-ˈje-nə-tər): Middle English, from the 14th Century Anglo-French 'progenitour,' from Latin 'progenitor,' meaning 'to beget.' An ancestor in the direct line, foreparent.
This entry was posted in Infertility, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A funny thing happened on the way to the OB’s office.

  1. Congratulations the wait & see approach seems quite normal to me.
    x

  2. I COMPLETELY remember that feeling. Going to the dr. before pregnancy was never for anything pleasant or happy… it’s strange to get into a different mindset. In fact, I’m not sure I ever even got there. I wasn’t really ‘real’ until I actually was holding her… for a few days.

  3. I can’t believe you’re 10 weeks already!!! GOOD JOB MAMA!!! I’m still so happy for you!

    Oh and we registered on Saturday and I spent 2 hours in the store (after another 2 hours in 2 other stores) and approximately 6+ hours online fixing the registry. Who knew you needed all this crap and I don’t even know what half of it does?! It was so overwhelming – I’m much better at registering for (and using) wine glasses…

    • You did?! Oh, that’s terrific! To aid and abet this shopping frenzy: Have you stumbled upon Mama Mio in your travels? (Check it: http://www.mamamio.com/.) My very thoughtful sister-in-law introduced me to this, my latest vice! Pregnancy, and my pocket book, will never be the same!

      • Ummm…my husband might kill you for this! LOOK AT ALL THAT PREGNANCY SKIN STUFF!!!! Is it wrong to think that I “deserve” to pamper the shit out of myself after all the poking and proding (which is now happening internally)? I mean, how can I say no to manis/pedis, prenatal massages, and pregnancy skin products?!

  4. Katherine says:

    I am very excited for you! Keep the very entertaining and true to my life posts coming!

  5. sheri says:

    found you through SITS – and enjoying your lovely, thoughtful and honest look at what is such an indescribable experience. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

